Make wonderful and magical memories in the run-up to Christmas thanks to our festive,  evocative, dramatic and colourful Steam and Lights train journey through the Isle of Purbeck countryside.

A new not to be missed pre-booked steam train experience, the steam locomotive and carriages will be covered with brightly coloured lights while the cosy steam-heated carriage interiors will be festively decorated for the one-hour evening round trip passing the historic ruins of Corfe Castle.

A memorable experience suitable for all ages. Stations and key points along the line will be specially lit as the Steam and Lights train passes through in the dark.

On board the train, there will be festive music synchronised to the lighting displays passing the carriage windows as well as an informative on-train commentary.

Before passengers board the Steam and Lights train at Swanage station, there will be a dramatic switch-on of the train lights at the platform.

Steam and Lights trains must be booked in advance and can only be joined at Swanage station where the brightly lit festive trains start and end their journeys.  Departing from Swanage station at 17.15 and 19.15, the return trip will last approximatly one hour.

Please note: There is no Santa on 'Steam and Lights'.

CAUTION: This event includes some flashing lights so may be unsuitable for people suffering from epilepsy.

TRAIN FARES  
Table for up to 4 people £85.00

One wheelchair user and up to 3 persons 

(Call us to book wheelchair space)

£65.00
Under 3s (not occupying a seat) FREE
DATES FOR 2021  
Saturday, 27 November Sunday, 28 November
Saturday, 4 December Sunday, 5 December
Saturday, 11 December Sunday, 12 December
Saturday, 18 December Sunday, 19 December
Monday, 20 December Tuesday, 21 December
Wednesday, 22 December Thursday, 23 December
Monday, 27 December Tuesday, 28 December
Wednesday, 29 December Thursday, 30 December
Friday, 31 December  

PLEASE NOTE:

  • Toilets are only available at Swanage station.
  • There are no toilets on the trains.
  • Our shop at Swanage station will be open, subject to volunteer availability.
  • Our station kiosk will be open serving hot drinks and light snacks, subject to volunteer availability. 
  • All other stations will be closed.
  • There are no refunds available for this service.
  • Regretfully, pets are not permitted to travel on this service.

Book Online